Housing First

The principle of “Housing First” is that every person has the RIGHT to a safe and affordable home.

Wabano’s Housing First Initiative helps First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples who are experiencing absolute or episodic homelessness. The Housing First Initiative focuses on obtaining housing for the most vulnerable and chronically homeless Indigenous people in Ottawa. Once housing has been obtained, the case managers will provide a full range of supportive services to the client in order to become self-sufficient in maintaining housing.

The goal of Wabano’s Housing First Initiative is to:

  • Assist First Nations, Inuit and Métis people to find safe, affordable and permanent housing.
  • Provide one-on-one case management.
  • Identify individual strengths and challenges and goal setting.
  • Provide culturally specific Indigenous resources and education.

For more information please call Housing First workers at the coordinates below.

Tina Slauenwhite – Housing First Director tslauenwhite@wabano.com ext. 203

Russ Halpin – Housing First Case Manager rhalpin@wabano.com ext. 239
Sylvia Sackaney – Housing First Case Manager ssackaney@wabano.com ext. 304
Amanda Slauenwhite – Housing First Case Manager  aslauenwhite@wabano.com  ext. 263

Youth Housing First Program:

The Youth Housing First Program provides case management and housing support for First Nations, Inuit and Métis youth (16-29 years old) who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless. The Youth Housing First Case Managers are assigned to work with each youth to ensure that they succeed in their transition to sustainable and independent living. For more information please contact one of the Youth Housing First Case Managers at the coordinates below:

Shannon Reid – Youth Housing First Case Manager sreid@wabano.com ext. 360
Melissa Commandant – Youth Housing Based Case Manager mcommandant@wabano.com ext. 258

General Housing Support Program:

The General Housing Support Program provides assistance to those individuals who do not meet the Housing First Initiative but need other housing support services. This includes but is not limited to re-housing support, landlord-tenant advocacy,  support with logistics to set up an apartment (i.e. refer clients to support networks for insurance and/or other income to ensure individuals can pay damage deposit, first and last month’s rent, basic groceries and supplies at move-in). For more information please contact one of the General Housing Support Workers at the coordinates below:

Erin Hill – Housing Support Worker ehill@wabano.com ext. 322
Sam Dafoe – Housing Support Worker sdafoe@wabano.com ext. 220

Crisis Outreach Worker:

The Crisis Outreach Worker supports individuals during crisis by connecting them to community resources and networks that can increase their wellbeing and offer access to relevant opportunities (housing, employment, social interaction etc.). For more information please contact the Crisis Outreach Worker at the coordinates below:

Robert Scobie – Crisis Outreach Worker  rscobie@wabano.com  ext. 235

Financial Benefit Worker:

The program assists individuals with applying for Ontario Works (OW) and the Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP). This includes assistance with the application process, from the initial expression of interest to the final decision of the Disability Adjudication Unit or Social Benefits Tribunal. The worker supports Housing First participants to access the full spectrum of financial resources from OW and ODSP to ensure participants can pay first and last month’s rent, utilities, any rental and utility arrears, basic groceries and supplies at move-in. For more information please contact the Financial Benefit Worker at the coordinates below:

Jessica Dumont – Financial Benefit Worker  jdumont@wabano.com  ext. 257

ASI Addictions Worker:

The Wabano’s Ontario Works Addiction Services Initiative (ASI) is open to First Nations, Inuit and Métis people who are currently enrolled in this program through Ontario Works and have experienced problems related to substance use. The ASI Addictions Worker offers assistance to individuals to identify  and determine the best treatment options to meet their recovery goals by providing one-on-one counselling, referrals and traditional teachings. For more information please contact the ASI Addictions Worker at the coordinates below:

Frank Leaney – ASI Addictions Worker  fleaney@wabano.com ext. 259


ONGOING PROGRAMS:

Join us for the Biindahgen program on Fridays

http://wabano.com/new-beginnings/

http://wabano.com/stepping-stones/

http://wabano.com/kiyam/